Substantial Equivalency

The CPA requirements of the states listed below have been deemed substantially equivalent to Illinois CPA requirements. If you hold a valid, unrevoked, unexpired CPA  license from one of these states you may obtain an Illinois CPA Registration or License by contacting the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation.

Alabama Indiana Missouri Oregon
Alaska Iowa Montana Rhode Island
Arizona Kansas Nebraska South Carolina
Arkansas Kentucky Nevada South Dakota
Connecticut Louisiana New Jersey Tennessee
District of Columbia Maine New Mexico Texas
Florida Maryland New York Utah
Georgia Massachusetts North Carolina Virginia
Guam Michigan North Dakota Washington
Hawaii Minnesota Ohio West Virginia
Idaho Mississippi Oklahoma Wisconsin
Pennsylvania Wyoming                                    

States Conditionally Substantially Equivalent

California New Hampshire
Colorado Vermont


Contact the Illinois Board of Examiners for more information.

States NOT Substantially Equivalent

Puerto Rico                                                                                                                                                                
Virgin Islands    

©2010 Illinois Board of Examiners. All Rights Reserved.